The David Berglas Award 2013 | Magic News | Tuesday, April 2, 2013  |  No Comments »

The British Magical Society has the distinction of being the oldest magic club in the UK. Over 100 members and guests celebrated at the Society’s Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday with guests of honour Duncan Trillo and Keiko. President Elect John Jeremy acted as Master of Ceremonies.

After dinner the formal presentations took place of which the highlight this year was once again the presentation of the David Berglas Award. The award and huge trophy was conceived and generously donated by the legend that is David Berglas to recognise outstanding achievements of British magicians. The recipient of this very prestigious Award is decided annually by members and past presidents of the British Magical Society and the list of previous winners reads like a Who’s Who of British magic and includes such giants as Peter Warlock, Paul Daniels, Alan Shaxon, Pat Page, Roy Johnson, Ron Macmillan, David Berglas, Wayne Dobson, Jeffery Atkins, Edwin Dawes, Elizabeth Warlock, Geoffrey Durham, Alex Elmsley, Paul Kieve, Mark Raffles, Terry Herbert, Roy Walton, Bob Hamilton and Derren Brown.

This year, the unusual weather prevented David Berglas attending in person to present the award that carries his name and in his absence the presentation was made by President Paul Cadley to very worthy winner Duncan Trillo. Duncan, a past winner of The Magic Circle Stage Magician of the Year Competition honed his art performing at London’s Covent Garden before a career that established him as ‘A World Class Performer’ (The Stage), entertaining at the most prestigious venues across the globe from Japan to USA. Aside from performing, Duncan also conceived and organised the popular Mind Magic convention and his highly successful online resource, is required reading in the industry and always up to date with the latest news and listings.

Our congratulations to Duncan for his richly deserved award.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.